The Basics of a Writer’s Grammar

In “The Basics of a Writer’s Grammar,” I understand a lot about where the author, Rei R. Noguchi is coming from with the arguments posed throughout the article. In the first section “The Limits of Grammar in Writing Improvement,” the author explains the errors that are made early on in a students life from elementary teachers and their skills to students simply not caring. The author quotes a Hillocks study on how teaching grammar to students does nothing for a student’s ability to write and how “formal grammar instruction fails to improve writing,” I completely disagree with this notion. I learned a lot from my younger years of learning grammar and so have a lot of the other peers I know. I believe it depends on the teacher than their teaching abilities.

Another idea Noguchi brings up is how students barely care about grammar. They feel discouraged and frustrated and give up on learning grammar techniques. While some this is true, I also believe writing and learning grammar can be taught and absorbed in an easier way. Students need incentive. They need to know what they are doing has a purpose. Whether it is a candy bar or giving the student a lecture about how grammar is important for them in the future. Young students have a small attention span; they need something to keep them going. Another way is to make writing and grammar fun. Free writing is also a good source of having students be creative and learn at the same time, especially at an early age in life. Students need to learn that writing and grammar aren’t their enemies.Different grammar styles are also a big issue. I understand that many teachers teach grammar differently and even clash with other teachers. I see it everyday during my tutoring sessions. I have come to realize I have to ask the student what the professor wants before anything else. I realize that my grammatical ways are probably not the same as the professors. I hear myself asking “would your professor have a problem with this,” more than I ask about how the student feels.

In part 2, “The Basics of a Writer’s Grammar,” I sympathize with both the teachers and the students. I know Expository Writing is not something students look forward to, but I also know a lot of professors that also don’t look forward to class. Teachers not marking down errors and other problems in a student’s paper can be helpful to a student’s writing as much as it can be hurtful. If the professors don’t make down their errors, the student has an incentive to proofread and better develop skills in proofreading.The problem that students also do not develop good content can also be resolved. In tutoring, if students explain to me they have no idea what to write, I make them turn to a new sheet of paper and just write. I go back to my notion of having students write freely. Creative writing can be very helpful in developing a students grammar skills and content skills. It allows them to think more in-depth and get creative.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Basics of a Writer’s Grammar

  1. 5/5
    It’s so true that you to ask what the professor wants, because it is always different.

Leave a Reply

